A password will be e-mailed to you.

SABC radio sports presenter and commentator, Thina Ramantswana, has been nominated at this year’s SPAR gsport Awards.

The presenter, who has been with the Limpopo-based SABC radio station Phalaphala FM for over five years, was the first woman to do live radio commentary of the world cup matches during the 2010 and 2014 World Cups respectively.

In addition, Ramantswana – who does the live commentary of the ABSA Premiership and National First Division games as well as the Promotion/Relegation play offs – was also behind the mic during the CHAN games in South Africa in 2013.

She is nominated for the gsport Woman in Media – Radio category alongside Channel Africa sports presenter, Rachel Makhura and EWN Sport Editor, Cindy Poluta.

Voting is now open on until Friday, 7 August. To determine the sixth vote in gsport’s 2015 Judging Panel, this year including Hockey legend, Pietie Coetzee; Sunday Times sports editor, Bareng Batho Kortjaas; Deputy sports editor of SABC TV News, Janet Whitton; women’s sports activist and publisher, Cheryl Roberts, alongside long time judge and former gsport Style Star winner, Uyanda Mbuli.

Nominees full list:

Athlete of the Year award

  • Caroline Wostmann – Two Oceans and Comrades Marathon winner
  • Grace Legote – The current Rhythmic Gymnastics Africa Champion
  • Naydene Smith/Lee-Ann Persse – Champion rowing pair

Athlete of the Year with Disability category

  • Ilse Hayes Carstens – The world’s fastest female Paralympian this year will challenge
  • Kgothatso Montjane – World Top 8 wheelchair tennis ace
  • Rosabelle Riese – Long time disabled sports all-rounder

Junior Athlete of the Year 

  • Nokwande Hlongwane – 14 year old, who is number three in the world of junior wheelchair tennis
  • Gezelle Magerman – Youth Olympic Games gold medalist
  • Kayla de Beer – Junior Canoeing star and World Champs hopeful

Woman of the Year

  • Jessica Motaung – Kaizer Chiefs Marketing Director
  • Thandi Merafe – Orlando Pirates media officer
  • Patricia Kambarami – Titans Cricket COO

Woman in Media – Television

  • Ronnie Tippett – Freelance Camerawoman
  • Motshidisi Mohono – SuperSport Presenter Motshidisi Mohono
  • Nono Cele – SuperSport Producer/Director

Woman in Media – Print

  • Reabetswe Mashigo – City Press Writer
  • Natalie le Clue – Formula One analyst
  • Busisiwe Mokwena – Daily Sun sports reporter

Woman in Media – Social Media

  • Reabetswe Mashigo – City Press Writer
  • Rikashni Rangasamy – SuperSport Social Media Coordinator
  • Nozibusiso Sibiya – Netball South Africa Social Media Reporter

Coach of the Year

  • Tatiana Lavrentchouk-Vizer – Rhythmic Gymnastics coach
  • Khotso Mashego – Wheelchair Tennis Coach
  • Mampho Tsotetsi – Netball Coach and Mentor

Style Star of the Year

  • Mapaseka Makhanya – Athlete
  • Ntando Stemmet – Women’s Sports Blogger
  • Nomzamo Mbatha – Break Out Star in South Africa media and entertainment

Supporter of the Year

  • Mama Joy – Orlando Pirates’ number one fan
  • Carl Pasio and Gugu Zulu, who were both nominated by their wives for being their biggest supporters.

Volunteer of the Year 

  • Michelle Smith – motorsport development champion
  • Londiwe Hlatswayo – Kagiso sports enthusiast
  • Nomsa Tsime – Gauteng women’s cricket volunteer


About The Author

Am the guest user, the one who posts press releases and all the other articles no one wants to take credit for anyone you want me to be ...I can be your voice if you want your article to be considered for guest publication.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.