A password will be e-mailed to you.

The 24th South African Music Awards ceremony was dominated by Shekhinah Donnel, who was the biggest winner of the night.

Best Selling Digital Artists

Joyous Celebration

Highest Airplay Special Composer Winner Package

Sun-El Musician ft Samthing Soweto

Best Traditional Faith Music Album

Andile Kamajola for Andile Kamajola Chapter 8 Sekwanele

Best African Indigenous Gospel Album

Vuma Zion for Samson Aphi Amandla Akho

Best Kwaito Album

Busiswa for Highly Flavoured

Best Afro Pop Album

Mafikizolo for 20

Beste Kontemporere Musiek Album

Jo Black for Skepe

Best Pop Album

Tresor for The Beautiful Madness

Lifetime Achiever Award recipients

Spokes H, Steve Kekana and Mbongeni Ngema

International Achiever Award

Shashika Mooruth

Best Rock Album

Fokofpolisiekar for Selfmedikasie

The Best Hip Hop Album

Shane Eagle for Yellow

Best Dance Album

Lady Zamar for King Zamar

Best Maskandi

Abafana Baka Mgqumeni for 6 to 6

Newcomer of the Year


Duo/Group of the Year


Female Artist of the Year


Male Artist of the Year

Prince Kaybee

Album of the Year

Shekhinah for Rose Gold

Record of the Year

Distruction Boyz FT Benny Maverick & Dladla Mshunqisi for Omunye

The first leg of the awards took place in Sun City on Friday night. The first leg ones were the industry/technical awards.

Here is the list of the winners:

Best Adult Contemporary Album
Wouter Kellerman & Soweto Gospel Choir

Best African Adult Album
Siseko Pame, Ilanga

Best Alternative Music Album
Bongeziwe Mabandla, Mangaliso

Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album
Aftrotraction, Relationships

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album
Nqubeko Mbatha, Heaven’s Ways

Best Afrikaans Pop Album
Kurt Darren, Laat Die Dansvloer Brand

Best Jazz Album
Nduduzo Makhathini, Ikhambi

Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album
Charl Du Plessis Trio, Baroqueswing Vol. III

Best Traditional Music Album
Jessica Mbangeni, Jessica Mbangeni sings Igoli Live

Best African Artist
Simphiwe Dana, The Simphiwe Dana Symphony Experience

Best Live Audio Visual Recording/DVD
Robin Kohl (Donald), Red Mic Xperience

Best Collaboration
Sun-El Musician ft Samthing Soweto, Akanamali

Best Music Video of The Year
Alex Fynn (Rogue), Arumtumtum

Best Produced Album of the Year

Dominic Peters, David Poole (Goldfish), Late Night People

Best Engineered Album of the Year
Howard Gomba, Themba Sekowe (Mafikizolo), 20

Best Remix of the Year
Mobi Dixon (Encore), I Got You

Best Selling DVD Album
Joyous Celebration, Joyous Celebration Volume 21 Heal Our Land

Best Selling Album
Joyous Celebration, Joyous Celebration Volume 21 Heal Our Land

Capasso Best Selling Digital Download Composer’s Award 
Timothy Bambelela Myeni (Joyous Celebration), Joyous Celebration Volume 21

About The Author

Am the guest user, the one who posts press releases and all the other articles no one wants to take credit for anyone you want me to be ...I can be your voice if you want your article to be considered for guest publication.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.