The South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) bagged over 20 awards at the 2015 MTN Radio Awards. The event which is in its sixth year was held at the Sandton Convention Centre north of Johannesburg.

The MTN Radio Awards is where the entire radio family converges for one night of celebration of excellent work in one of the most exciting industries. The alluring event, hosted by comedian Joey Rasdien, entertained and dazzled guests as many of the country’s top performing media personalities were handed prestigious awards.

Over 80 awards were given to individuals and groups ranging from campus, community radio to the Public Broadcasting Service and commercial radio station categories.

The SABC received about 140 nominations and over 20 awards.

Minister of Communications, Faith Muthambi, congratulated the awardees on their achievements.

She believes that events such as the MTN Radio Awards will motivate the media community in South Africa to enhance their innovation and creativity in the industry and strive to be contenders for next year.

“I think it is very good because it motivates everybody. You can see the excitement here and I think everybody will want to be associated with winning.”

Muthambi also strongly condemned the recent xenophobic attacks and said that people living in the country must treat each other as equals.

“I think the message is that this is not what our predecessors fought for – people like Nelson Mandela, Oliver Thambo, and the late comrade Chabane. I think we need to at all costs to call on all South Africans to stop these senseless killings because these are our fellow brothers and sisters.”

Highlights of the evening focused on the Hall of Fame awardees, My Station- Listeners Choice SMS Campaign, Lifetime achievement and Station of the Year awards.

The Station of the Year Award was given to SABC’s Thobela FM. Station Manager Mosh Matsena congratulated the team on their hard work and dedication to the station’s excellent programming and presentation.

About 180 music artists from the African continents including Nigeria, Rwanda, Uganda, Cameroon, Tanzania, Mozambique and South Africa joined to raise funds to assist those affected by the recent Ebola outbreak which has killed more than 10 600 people.

Adding to the continent’s strain, the recent xenophobic attacks in South Africa motivated the artists to sing collectively against the Ebola virus and the attacks.

Nigerian song artist, Praize, who attended the event, says that the awards ceremony is an inspiring initiative and singing the song We are the world with the other artists sends a message of peace to Africa as a whole.

“For me, it is a first, because back in Nigeria we rarely have radio awards and I think it is a great initiative and a great way of producing good music. The song that was premiered today was We are the world for Africa and for me its history rewritten and I am glad to be part of the song.”

Enthusiastic awardees were dressed in smart attire and pulled out all the stops in elegant dresses and well-tailored suits. Those who attended the award ceremony including guests, nominees and awardees are hopeful to be part of the next MTN Radio Awards event.
It is assured that radio stations across the country are motivated to reach the top of the awards list and provide better results next year.

A list of the winners

  • Afternoon Drive Presenter: Thobela FM – Skhumbuzo Mbatha
  • Afternoon Drive Show PBS: Motsweding FM – Fokotsa gee
  • Breakfast show presenter PBS: Umhlobo Wenene FM – Putco Mafani
  • Breakfast Show PBS: Thobela FM – Ditlalemeso
  • Breakfast Show Commercial: Good Hope FM – The Good Hope FM breakfast show
  • Content Producer PBS: Ligwalagwala FM – Sifiso Malisa
  • Daytime Show PBS: Umhlobo Wenene FM – Sijikilanga
  • Drama Programme PBS: Motsweding FM – Seboloke
  • Field News Reporter PBS: Lotus FM Newsbreak – Taresh Harreeparshad
  • Multi-channel Promotion PBS: Sabc radio stations – Standard bank Iketsetse zenzele
  • Music show: Thobela FM – Mekgolokwane
  • News and Actuality Presenter PBS: Munghana Lonene FM – Morgan Shibambu
  • News and Actuality Producer PBS: Lotus FM Newsbreak – Prabashini Moodley
  • News and Actuality Show PBS: Lotus FM – Newsbreak talk
  • News Bulletin Reader PBS: Channel Africa – Amanda Matshaka
  • Night-time Show PB: SAFM – Overnight
  • On-air Packaging PBS: Radio 2000 – Back to school promo
  • Programme Innovation PBS: Motsweding FM
  • Sports Commentator Winner: Umhlobo Wenene FM – Zolani Bongco
  • Sports Show PBS: Ukhozi FM – Ezemidlalo no victor
  • Sports Show Commercial: Metro FM – 083 sports@6 with Marawa
  • Weekend Radio show PBS: SAFM- Media@safm
  • Community: Thobela FM – Church Monetary Contributions
  • Station of the Year: Thobela FM

In the following three nomination-only categories:

  • Lifetime Achiever Award – K.E Masinga
  • Three SABC broadcasters were inducted into hall of fame – Saba Mbixane (posthumous), Julian Lurie and Alan Khan.
  • Busi Titi of Umhlobo Wenene was welcomed into the bright stars club.

Article by: Risha Maduray

Picture credit: Facebook.

About The Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.