Rivals AKA and Cassper Nyovest dominated SA hip hop awards at the Lyric Theatre in Gold Reef city in Johannesburg last night, but the award that everyone is talking about on Twitter is the Lyricist of the Year, won by rapper Kwesta for his latest single, The King Speech.

The 26-year-old hip hip star, whose birth name is Senzo Vilakazi, released his award winning song as a free download last month (November) and its popularity made it to top 10 trending topics on Twitter worldwide. More interestingly, it was trending for more than a week in South Africa.

Last night, soon after Kwesta – who made his mark on the music scene when he released his debut album, ‘Special Rekwest’ when he was just 21 years old – was announced as the Lyricist of the Year winner, The King Speech was back to claim its trending spot on Twitter.

Here are some of the tweets:

  •  Sabelo @surbZ_MX – LYRICIST OF THE YEAR simply means that You Are the best Rapper in SA!! @kwestadakar
  •  IG: luvogolden @luvogolden – @KwestaDaKAR did it!! But I’ve been saying, You CAN’T ESCAPE THESE BARS, LET IT BE KNOWN! #kingspeech
  •  Puleng Rathebe @PulyBigBeliever – Lyricist of the year- One of the most Important awards of the evening #SAHHA2014 @kwestadakar. Y’all better recognise!!

The self-proclaimed ‘Da KING of Afrikan Rap & Mr Cool’ is not surprised to be the recipient of the most important award, as he believes his undeniable talent deserves such recognition.

“Rapped circles around dudes all year… I just wanted to get what I deserved. Thank you to the South African Hip-hop Awards for giving me what was mine all along,” Kwesta wrote on his Facebook page.

Meanwhile, the Cape Town-born rapper AKA, 26, real name Kiernan Jordan Forbes, scooped 4 awards while his biggest competitor Cassper, 24, born Refiloe Maele Phoolo, walked away with three.

Winners Full list:

Album of the Year

  • Cassper Nyovest- Tsholofelo

Producer of the Year

  • Ganja Beatz

Hustler of the Year

  • Monde Dube

Best International Brand

  • Miller

Best Local Brand

  • Butan

Song of the Year

  • Cassper Nyovest – Doc Shebeleza

Best Dance Crew

  • Freeze Frame

Honorary Award

  • Emile YX

Best Collaboration

  • AKA ft. K.O – Run Jozi

DJ of the Year

  • DJ Dimplez

Best Newcomer (Freshman)

  • Solo

Mixtape of the Year

  • DJ Switch – The Switch Up

Most Valuable Artist

  • AKA

Video of the Year

  • AKA – Congratulate

Best Graffiti Artist

  • Riot

Best Male

  • AKA

Best Female

  • Gigi Lamayne

Lyricist of the Year

  • Kwesta

Promoter of the Year

  • Pop Bottles

Best Hip Hop Radio Show

  • 16 Bars Reloaded – UJFM

Milestone Award

  • Khuli Chana

Best Digital Sales

  • Cassper Nyovest – Tsholofelo

King of Gauteng

  • Refiloe Ramogase

King of Mpumalanga

  • Ecks Exodus Nkosingiphile

King of Western Cape

  • Rozzano Davids

King of Northern Cape

  • Kgomotso Modiragale

King of KwaZulu-Natal

  • Brian Khoza

King of Eastern Cape

  • Yahkeem Ben Israel

King of Free State

  • Thabo Tsasane

King of Limpopo

  • Culprit

King of North West

  • Ofentse Tapile

About The Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.